Strawberry and Vanilla Macarons

Image

Strawberry and Vanilla Macarons

This was my first attempt at making Macarons. They seem to be all the rage right now. I was pretty disappointed as some of the Macarons you see in shop windows look like art!

However, I cut myself some slack as I was missing a few of the utensils required. One of my biggest problems was not owning a Silicon Gel Mat. This meant that the Macarons stuck to the baking sheet a lot. I tried to use baking paper instead but it was little help.

Macaron Recipe:

3 egg whites

1/4 cup white sugar

1 2/3 cups confectioners’ sugar

1 cup finely ground almonds

1. Line a baking sheet with a silicone baking mat.
Beat egg whites in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment until whites are foamy; beat in white sugar and continue beating until egg whites are glossy, fluffy, and hold soft peaks. Sift confectioners’ sugar and ground almonds in a separate bowl and quickly fold the almond mixture into the egg whites, about 30 strokes.

2. Spoon a small amount of batter into a plastic bag with a small corner cut off and pipe a test disk of batter, about 1 1/2 inches in diameter, onto prepared baking sheet. If the disk of batter holds a peak instead of flattening immediately, gently fold the batter a few more times and retest.

3. When batter is mixed enough to flatten immediately into an even disk, spoon into a pastry bag fitted with a plain round tip. Pipe the batter onto the baking sheet in rounds, leaving space between the disks. Let the piped cookies stand out at room temperature until they form a hard skin on top, about 1 hour.

4. Preheat oven to 285 degrees F (140 degrees C).
Bake cookies until set but not browned, about 10 minutes; let cookies cool completely before filling.

– I added 2 tablespoons of strawberry flavoring to half of my mixture

2 responses »

  1. I’d still eat them. I’m sure your next batch (if you make another batch) will be better and if you keep baking them, you’ll reach the point in which they almost look perfect. Try and try until you succeed.

Leave a comment